Spyro Reignited Trilogy announced, coming to PS4 and Xbox One Sept. 21

All three original Spyro the Dragon games are getting the remaster treatment and coming to modern consoles

One of the worst-kept secrets in recent years has been that a Spyro the Dragon remastered trilogy would be coming to modern consoles following the huge success of the Crash Bandicoot trilogy, which was recently revealed to be getting a Nintendo Switch, Xbox One and PC version.

Today, the Spyro Reignited Trilogy was officially announced via the PlayStation Blog. The game releases Sept. 21 and will include all three original games: Spyro the Dragon, Ripto’s Rage and Year of the Dragon. It will retail for $39.99, according to an Amazon listing.

The games were originally exclusive to Sony’s first PlayStation console. They launched in 1998, 1999 and 2000. 2018 is the 20th anniversary of the original game, which also released in September of ’98.

The new trilogy will also be making its way to Xbox One, according to Xbox Wire. No word on a Nintendo Switch or PC version, but with the Crash Bandicoot trilogy coming to those platforms, it would make sense that we’ll probably see Spyro release for those at some point as well.

“Upon this solid foundation of data from the original trilogy, we’ve set out to craft a remaster trilogy worthy of Spyro’s 20th anniversary celebration,” Toby Schadt, design director for game developer Toys for Bob, said. “Each day, we’re working hard to fill the Dragon Realms, Avalar, and the Forgotten Realms with all the magic you remember. We can’t wait to share it with you all later this year.”

The post went on to say that more details will be shared with the gaming community as the game’s release date gets closer. Keep it locked to SCG for all your Spyro news and more.